“Moving Heaven and Earth” — How Bitcoin and Humans Will Actually Save the World

Tomer Strolight
9 min readJul 26, 2021

I came across an interesting twitter bio for a bitcoiner last week who goes by the handle “Peace of Bitcoin”. It read:

What if I told you, YOU could save earth and help it thrive for eternity? #bitcoinandbeyond I’m here for what happens next… #justmypeace #hodl

I knew this was possible based on a profound experience which showed me how Bitcoin, in combination with humans, would in fact save the Earth for eternity. I was very pleasantly surprised to see that someone else also appeared to have discovered this. So I sent her a couple of direct messages. This is the conversation that transpired:

“How do you think bitcoin helps the planet?
Correction, ‘saves’ the planet?”
Fri 9:27 PM

No reply came until Sunday, when I got this:

Hey sorry didn’t see your message. Strangely enough I changed my opinion/stance recently. The more I read into green energy, the more I realise what we’re fed is just bullshit.
Bitcoin doesn’t save the planet. It frees the people.
The planet doesn’t need or care about us
I just hope for more peace post hyperbitcoinisation
Your thoughts?
Sun 9:30 AM

So she hadn’t figured it out, I realized. I replied.

I can tell you how Bitcoin, working with humans, will actually save the Earth. I was just wondering if anyone else had come across how themselves.
Sun 10:08 AM

Seemingly doubtful, the following came back:

Oh Really?
Indeed. Let me know if you are curious. The solution starts by answering the question “Without intervention, what will lead to the destruction of the Earth?”
Humans?
No. Humans can’t destroy the planet. All our nuclear weapons combined aren’t 1/100,000th the power of the meteor that struck in the Gulf of Mexico, which didn’t destroy the Earth. It extincted the dinosaurs is all.
Good to know. So natural forces?
Yes. You’re allowed to Google for the answers. I’m not testing you to see what you already knew.
Google will show me what it thinks I should see… I’ll use a tor and see what it says.
Options are…AI? Global Population? Consumerism? Inefficiency?
Give me a clue? 🤔 Please.
Nope. None of those. There’s this big ball of fire in the sky though. We need something capable of actually DESTROYING a whole planet.
The sun…oh shit
Don’t panic. It’s not about to happen tomorrow. Do you know what happens to stars eventually?
Depends on their size
True. What happens to ones the size of ours?
The sun would grow as it runs out of hydrogen. Let me check
I was right! As it runs out of fuel it grows into a red giant and it’ll absorb planets to survive? But that’s all I know…I can keep googling…
Yes. It does absorb planets — not for the purpose of surviving, but because they happen to be in orbits narrower than its radius.
Oh boring, I wish they had minds of their own. But that makes sense. How can Bitcoin help?
Let’s not rule out that the sun might have some kind of mind, but it’s not relevant right now to this story.
How can Bitcoin help? Good question. What does Bitcoin “eat”?
Greed. Metaphorically.
Ok. What does it eat metaphysically?
Physically energy.
Correct. How much energy can it ‘eat’?
Infinite until it dies. If it dies.
Correct also (except it can’t die)
I believe it’ll morph and evolve
Now bring greed back in to the picture since you brought it up in the first place. What does Bitcoin incentivize humankind to make unlimited amounts of? …out of greed.
Money! Oh I’m scared where this is going
Bitcoin makes money — what do you need to make to get its money?
Thinking…
Energy!!
Money is energy. Everything is energy.
Bitcoin can absorb wasted energy. That no-one wants. Ahhhhh ok I get it.
Ok. You’re definitely on the right track.
I just want to be clear, I’m talking about saving the earth for eternity. And you’ve already pointed out that the sun will eventually run out of fuel and energy.
You’re talking about billions of years. Ok this just got even more exciting.
Of course I am.
Please share…
Well… Bitcoin creates the incentive for mankind to discover new ways to capture and harness energy. Do you agree?
Definitely. It has infinite possibilities.
Eventually, thanks to Bitcoin’s incentives we will learn to capture tremendous amounts of energy — perhaps even the majority of the sun’s output. Would you agree? It doesn’t have to be in your and my lifetimes, but lets say over the next 50,000 years.
We were discussing this last night. The use of magnifying glasses to create intense controlled heat. Why is that not utilised?!? It’s cheap and it just harnesses the sun. No waste. Maybe it is. Somewhere…
The sun is actually the source of all energy on earth.
Fossil fuels are just plants that captured the sun’s energy millions of years ago.
Life is matter from the Earth combined with energy from the sun.
Of course. Our sun is our God.
But it is not immortal.
😢
Don’t worry. Bitcoin fixes this.
By leaving Earth?
No. We are saving Earth not abandoning it.
And we are saving everything on it.
Good! Earth is a miracle. How will we keep the sun alive? Or survive without it?
Here comes the fun part.
There’s an expression for when you’d be prepared to take any effort to achieve a goal. Are you familiar with it? It says “I would move ….”
do you know how it ends?
I would move mountains…
Even bigger. Two things actually. I would move ____ and ____.
Oh heaven and earth
Bingo!
You want to move earth?! What!!!
Not just earth. Heaven too.
The Heavens.
It’s going to take a lot of energy.
How? Do you know Zeus?
I know mankind and bitcoin working together will generate enough energy to do it.
Incredible
I live for it
Nothing is impossible with the power of Bitcoin
Exactly. So let’s follow this through.
We will achieve enough mastery of energy and have sufficient abundance of it to move stellar bodies eventually.
Let me know if you agree or if you’ve got doubts.
If you’d asked me 12 months ago, I would have told you were a mad man and run away.
But since discovering and studying Bitcoin my life has completely changed beyond my imagination in a matter of minutes sometimes. Anything is possible.
I agree. What do I have to lose?
Nothing. And what have you to gain? Working towards preserving the Earth forever.
❤️
So if we can use this energy to gently move the Sun, which is already moving, but I mean gently change its course, we can save the Earth.
But how do we survive without the sun?
We are not leaving the Sun. If we gently change its course, it is taking us along for the ride. We are locked to our orbit around it. We won’t even feel a thing.
Its gravity will continue to keep us orbiting around it.
But it will be headed somewhere we want it to go, not just aimlessly shooting about the galaxy.
In fact, it’s going to take all the other planets and the asteroid belt along for the ride.
How can I help?
Don’t you want to know where we’re going?
The future
😆
BTW, you’re helping a lot, just so you know.
Lol
Getting serious, we can, of course, go only into the future, in time.
But where in this vast galaxy are we taking the solar system?
I’m trying and learning everyday. Learning to communicate effectively at the moment
You’re doing great.
Getting there, long way to go but I’m all about the journey.
Ok where do we go in this galaxy? Where’s better than here?
I can think of two places. The navigators at the time of the trip will decide.
One path is towards a location with a young sun-like star.
Milky Way?
There’s hundreds of billions of stars in the Milky Way.
If our sun is running out of fuel in the next few hundred million years, we need to find a sun-like star we can get to in time that we can use to replace it. Like swapping batteries.
It’s a long slow lonely trip through space and the distances between stars are vast. But we have hundreds of millions of years to make the journey.
Let’s get started then!
When we arrive we’ll need to complete a maneuver that, without destroying life on Earth, moves Earth into safe orbit around our new star. And we’ll have to gently watch, over millions more years as our sun drifts off to end its life, after having provided us with energy for billions of years.
But there’s also another possibility.
We can prolong the life of Sun possibly. Scientists will need to figure out if it can work. If we can find large clouds of hydrogen in space and direct the sun on a path to consume them, it may rejuvenate the sun.
Combine both plans, if hydrogen clouds are enroute to the new sun.
Absolutely!
This is why the Earth NEEDS us to survive! We are not a threat! We are its potential saviour, and the saviour of all life upon it. And potentially even of the Sun itself too!!
We do not need to flee the Earth and abandon it and all life upon it.
We can save it.
From the actual, real threat it faces.
We don’t need to make up doomsday scenarios.
We need to confront the real one. And avoid it.
Yes I’m not a fan of going to new planets. We need to contain the life we have here on this planet. It provides us with everything we will ever need.
Earth is beautiful. Why would we ever leave?
Yes it’s great to see earth from space but travelling to other planets is a waste of energy imo
There is one reason to leave Earth.
Not for all mankind. But for someone or something to leave.
Greed needs to fuck off.
Evil greed is on its dying breath already,
I can only hope
Bitcoin is dispatching greed at its very roots.
So why give me your time and wisdom? How can I help? I might just be a pleb?
I’m grateful of course
I’ll explain soon.
I just want to finish with the one reason we will want someone or something to leave Earth.
Which is?
As we explore the galaxy we may find other civilizations in the primitive condition that ours is in now.
We should ‘pay it forward’ and give them what they too need to save their mother planet, forever.
We need to send them the know-how to create Bitcoin for themselves.
If we’re the first to receive this gift
Indeed. We need to do this without of course revealing to them that there is some alien race that has mastered energy.
Then of course we need to share it
We do. Anonymously so that they become the creators of their destiny.
We must not take credit for it. We must share it without ever revealing who we are.
Just like Satoshi Nakamoto did for us.
🙏
Now would you like to know how you can help? How you already have?
Yes please
I’d like to publish this telling of the story of “Moving Heaven and Earth”
In ancient times, this is how stories were told. Interactively, from teller to listener. Differently each time based on the listener’s questions and reactions.
❤️ Ok
This story should be told often, over many generations, over many millennia.
Agreed.

--

--